Five pillars of Islam

The Five pillars of Islam (arkān al-Islām أركان الإسلام; also arkān ad-dīn أركان الدين “pillars of religion”) are certain fundamental acts of Islam, considered obligatory by believers, and are the foundation of Muslim life. They are summarized in the famous hadith of Gabriel. Sunnis and Shiites agree on the essential details of performing and practicing these acts, but Shiites do not refer to them by the same name.


  1. the Testimony of faith (shahādah)
  2. Prayer (ṣalāt)
  3. legal charity (zakāt)
  4. fasting (ṣawm or ṣiyam) in the month of Ramadan
  5. the pilgrimage (ḥajj) to Mecca.
Other languages
Main Topics
ASH’s Newsletter

Quick Random Curiosity


Jihad (in Arabic: جهاد‎ jihād) literally means striving or struggling,... Read more →